Jump to content


Similar Hands, Hand #2


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Snamuh

Snamuh

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Members
  • 5,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:State College, PA
  • Favorite Poker Game:NLHE 6 Max

Posted 23 February 2007 - 01:19 AM

With Hand #1 still in my mind, I came across the following hand.PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, $0.50 BB (8 handed) Hand History Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com (Format: FlopTurnRiver)Hero ($49.25)Button ($26.95)SB ($52.10)BB ($25.75)UTG ($86.80)UTG+1 ($54.95)MP1 ($12.35)MP2 ($61.75)Preflop: Hero is CO with JPosted Image, APosted Image. UTG raises to $1.5, 3 folds, Hero calls $1.50, Button calls $1.50, 2 folds.Flop: ($5.25) 5Posted Image, 3Posted Image, JPosted Image (3 players)UTG checks, Hero bets $3.5, Button folds, UTG calls $3.50.Turn: ($12.25) JPosted Image (2 players)UTG checks, Hero bets $6, UTG raises to $20, Hero calls $14.River: ($52.25) 9Posted Image (2 players)UTG bets $22.5, Hero calls $22.50.Final Pot: $97.25This is only my fourth hand at this table and my first hand played. I have no reads on the villain. With a fairly small UTG raise, I put the villain on an overpair. However when the villain suddenly showed aggression on the turn, the hand from earlier flashed into my mind. This time though, I genuinely thought I was ahead. Standard play here?
Snamuh raises to $76.75, and is all in
BigKamp: yyou lose
BigKamp has 15 seconds left to act
BigKamp calls $24.50, and is all in
Seat 1: BigKamp (small blind) mucked [Ad Ac] - a full house, Aces full of Kings
Seat 2: Snamuh (big blind) showed [Kd Kh] and won ($102.50) with four of a kind, Kings
Snamuh: you lose

#2 bdc30

bdc30

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Members
  • 9,407 posts
  • Location:Dutton, Ontario

Posted 23 February 2007 - 01:43 AM

I'm all in on the turn here close to 100.9% of the time.Do you really think 33 or 55 raise utg in an 8 handed game that often?

#3 NEtwowilldo

NEtwowilldo

    Poker Forum Groupie

  • Members
  • 691 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Favorite Poker Game:Mostly 10-20 Crazy 8s and my local B&M

Posted 23 February 2007 - 05:27 AM

I think you have the best hand here.If you call the turn, planning to call the bet on the river, you might as well just make the bet yourself and go all in on the turn. That's a pretty standard rule.
Lol Donkaments

Jeff Madsen doesn't eat his food, he just re-raises it until the nutrients fold into his stomach.

See What I've Been Up To

#4 Sefaje

Sefaje

    Poker Forum Nut

  • Members
  • 366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:everywhere
  • Favorite Poker Game:♠♥♣♦

Posted 23 February 2007 - 05:36 AM

View PostNEtwowilldo, on Friday, February 23rd, 2007, 7:27 AM, said:

I think you have the best hand here.If you call the turn, planning to call the bet on the river, you might as well just make the bet yourself and go all in on the turn. That's a pretty standard rule.
Fortunately, poker is a game where rules like this don't ALWAYS apply. Especially on a hand like this. The only thing hero can't beat is 55 or 33. Why would he want to push the turn and scare away an overpair? I call the turn because most of the time, villain is drawing to 2 outs. It's possible he has a jack as well, in which case he's at best splitting. I think an all in on the turn is awful, as he'll probably fold a lottt of things we're beating. The goal with AJ here is to get the money into the pot. Not win the hand.Call the turn, and call anything on the river or value bet if he checks.

#5 dms26

dms26

    Poker Forum God

  • Members
  • 21,900 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 February 2007 - 06:58 AM

I like your hand here a lot more than hand #1, post flop I play it the same. Preflop I don't know how crazy I am about calling an UTG raise with AJ, even if it is soooted. I think you sucked out against an overpair.Hand #1 I probably check-call the river, that board is much uglier than this one.
QUOTE (CozMyn @ Sunday, March 8th, 2009, 5:54 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
i tried to talk here about that program, the RNG , not to talk about when to accept all in without to see flop.
You can accept all in whenever you want, or whenever you feel lucky, but in virtual room's is not like in reality. In reality anything is possible... in virtual rooms you can be "the one" who knows the future, or who can change the future.

#6 DanielNegreanu

DanielNegreanu

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Root Admin
  • 7,593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas

Posted 23 February 2007 - 07:13 AM

With no read at all, I think you need to move all in on the turn just in case he has a draw. If you did have a read, though, and felt like he either had an over pair or was bluffing, then I like the call. It gives your opponent another opportunity to hang himself. If there is any chance that he's on the draw, though, not re-raising the turn is a little silly IMO.
Posted Image

#7 Sefaje

Sefaje

    Poker Forum Nut

  • Members
  • 366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:everywhere
  • Favorite Poker Game:♠♥♣♦

Posted 23 February 2007 - 07:21 AM

View PostDanielNegreanu, on Friday, February 23rd, 2007, 9:13 AM, said:

With no read at all, I think you need to move all in on the turn just in case he has a draw. If you did have a read, though, and felt like he either had an over pair or was bluffing, then I like the call. It gives your opponent another opportunity to hang himself. If there is any chance that he's on the draw, though, not re-raising the turn is a little silly IMO.
What draw could he have? 24h (lol)? he raised UTG, the only hand that could possibly be drawing (to more than 3 outs) is like AKh. I think it's an overpair significantly more, based on his check/call and check/raise line. Doing that with a flush draw is very strange. If villain is going to play his overcards+FD strongly, wouldn't he do it on the flop? I don't see a point in him doing it once the board paired, especially jacks.Had villain led the turn weakly with what appeared to be a blocker bet, then it's time to charge the draw.

#8 DanielNegreanu

DanielNegreanu

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Root Admin
  • 7,593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas

Posted 23 February 2007 - 08:02 AM

View PostSefaje, on Friday, February 23rd, 2007, 7:21 AM, said:

What draw could he have? 24h (lol)? he raised UTG, the only hand that could possibly be drawing (to more than 3 outs) is like AKh. I think it's an overpair significantly more, based on his check/call and check/raise line. Doing that with a flush draw is very strange. If villain is going to play his overcards+FD strongly, wouldn't he do it on the flop? I don't see a point in him doing it once the board paired, especially jacks.Had villain led the turn weakly with what appeared to be a blocker bet, then it's time to charge the draw.
I understand your point, but villain didn't play this hand much like an over pair by check-calling with a flush draw present, and then check-raising when the worst card in the deck hit. He could easily have Ah 4h. Just because you might not raise with that hand from UTG, doesn't mean that other's wouldn't. Or, possibly even the 4h 6h.
Posted Image

#9 Sefaje

Sefaje

    Poker Forum Nut

  • Members
  • 366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:everywhere
  • Favorite Poker Game:♠♥♣♦

Posted 23 February 2007 - 08:12 AM

View PostDanielNegreanu, on Friday, February 23rd, 2007, 10:02 AM, said:

I understand your point, but villain didn't play this hand much like an over pair by check-calling with a flush draw present, and then check-raising when the worst card in the deck hit. He could easily have Ah 4h. Just because you might not raise with that hand from UTG, doesn't mean that other's wouldn't. Or, possibly even the 4h 6h.
so if we're in agreement that it doesnt make sense to do it with the FD or the big pair, villain is more likely to have AJ or 55/33. in which case hero should just call the turn raise and re-evaluate on the river?That seems a bit like a case of 'seeing monsters in the closet' though.I suppose since a big pair is foldable on the river, and a flush draw is possible just like a big pair, you're better off just folding both of them on the turn? Eh.Anyway, I think if villain has 55 in this hand he should have led the turn, and bet more on the river if so. And if he has a flush, he's a nasty human.

#10 Snamuh

Snamuh

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Members
  • 5,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:State College, PA
  • Favorite Poker Game:NLHE 6 Max

Posted 23 February 2007 - 10:14 AM

View PostDanielNegreanu, on Friday, February 23rd, 2007, 10:13 AM, said:

With no read at all, I think you need to move all in on the turn just in case he has a draw. If you did have a read, though, and felt like he either had an over pair or was bluffing, then I like the call. It gives your opponent another opportunity to hang himself. If there is any chance that he's on the draw, though, not re-raising the turn is a little silly IMO.
The reason I didn't move in on the turn was because I had a pretty strong read that it was an overpair. If I shove that turn, there's a good chance the villain folds. I did not for a second think he was drawing because very few players at this level bet their draws this way unless the draw included the Jh (unlikely). Like you said, I wanted him to bet into me once more on the river.
Snamuh raises to $76.75, and is all in
BigKamp: yyou lose
BigKamp has 15 seconds left to act
BigKamp calls $24.50, and is all in
Seat 1: BigKamp (small blind) mucked [Ad Ac] - a full house, Aces full of Kings
Seat 2: Snamuh (big blind) showed [Kd Kh] and won ($102.50) with four of a kind, Kings
Snamuh: you lose

#11 mvdgaag

mvdgaag

    Poker Forum Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Favorite Poker Game:NLHE

Posted 27 February 2007 - 04:42 AM

What happened to KJs? His flop check would have been strange. I'd say his big reraise means either a J or Ah4h/Ah2h or possibly a stone cold bluff, which is unlikely. I think a suited ace is more likely, because os his flop check. Representing the J with a straight and flush draw is a nice semibluff here IMO."This time though, I genuinely thought I was ahead." So you weren't? wow!!?!

#12 Snamuh

Snamuh

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Members
  • 5,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:State College, PA
  • Favorite Poker Game:NLHE 6 Max

Posted 28 February 2007 - 02:17 AM

View Postmvdgaag, on Tuesday, February 27th, 2007, 7:42 AM, said:

What happened to KJs? His flop check would have been strange. I'd say his big reraise means either a J or Ah4h/Ah2h or possibly a stone cold bluff, which is unlikely. I think a suited ace is more likely, because os his flop check. Representing the J with a straight and flush draw is a nice semibluff here IMO."This time though, I genuinely thought I was ahead." So you weren't? wow!!?!
I was WA in this one as I expected (villain had TT - I actually expected to see something better than this, maybe KK or KJ).
Snamuh raises to $76.75, and is all in
BigKamp: yyou lose
BigKamp has 15 seconds left to act
BigKamp calls $24.50, and is all in
Seat 1: BigKamp (small blind) mucked [Ad Ac] - a full house, Aces full of Kings
Seat 2: Snamuh (big blind) showed [Kd Kh] and won ($102.50) with four of a kind, Kings
Snamuh: you lose




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users