Jump to content


official rules for mille


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 DanielNegreanu

DanielNegreanu

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Root Admin
  • 7,637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas

Posted 18 December 2005 - 05:57 PM

It's played heads up with each player getting 15 cards. Each card has a point value:3's through 9's are called nickel cards and are worth 5 points each10, J, Q, K, are all worth 10 pointsAces are worth 15 points2's, which are also wild, are worth 20 points each There are also two special cards that hold extra value: The Queen of spades is worth 100, not 10. The Jack of diamonds is worth 50, not 10. The game is played to a total of 1200 points and is played with two decks. The game starts with one player dealing the 15 cards out to his opponent and himself, then turning over a card from the deck. Then if the opponent had a pair of the card, he has the option of picking it up or going to the deck to draw another one. The only exception to this rule is that if the card is a 2 the opponent can just pick it up and doesn't have to use it immediately or have a pair of 2's. If a player picks up a card from what's known as the "pack" he must place that three of a kind face up on the table. The points that are laid on the table count as positive points, while all cards still remaining in your hand count against you. Players continue either drawing from the deck or picking up a card from the pack. IMPORTANT: if you pick up the top card from the pack you MUST take ALL of the cards in the pack. You can only take the top card, and the only time you can pick it up is if you have a pair of that card. EXAMPLE: The pack had a 3 4 5 K 3 7 and then your opponent throws you a 9. In your hand you have a pair of 99. If you take the 9, you must place the 9's on the table and then pick up the 3 4 5 K 3 7 as well. Anytime it's your turn you can count points for you by laying them down face up on the table. When you do that is entirely up to you.WILDCARD: A 2 acts as a wild card and can be used as any card. For example, you could lay down Q-Q-2 and that would count as a set. You can only lay down points when you have at least three of a kind. A 2 and a Q however, cannot pick up a Q from the pack. When drawing from the pack you must have a natural pair of that card. The hand ends when one player has no more cards left in his hand and has all of his cards on the table. A player must declare when he has just two cards left in his hand. You then count up all of the points laid. The opponent, must count the points he has laid on the table and subtract the rest of the points he has left in his hand. So for example, If the opponent who went "out" had 140 points down, his total would be 140 for that hand. If the other player had 235 points down, but 60 in hand, then his total would be 175 for that hand.NATURALS: A natural happens when a player goes out without using a 2 as a wild card. He could play 2 2 2 as a set and that would still count as a natural. If you are lucky enough to go out on a natural, all of your points would count for double and you would get a "mark" which I'll get to later. The other natural occurs when you get 8 of a kind. In that case you'd also get a mark and those 8 cards would be worth double. So for example if you had 8 8's, you would get 80 points for it as well as a mark.CHAPEAUS: A Chapeau occurs when your opponent goes out yet you have a negative total for the hand. A Chapeau also gets you a mark. SKUNK: If your opponent doesn't get over 600 points that is called a skunk and is worth another mark.GOING OUT: You go out when you have played all of your cards. You don't HAVE to discard when you go out, but you can if necessary. For example, if you picked up a Q from the deck and now had in hand Q-Q-Q K-K-2 7, you could discard the 7 and place the Q-Q-Q and K-K-2 down. Or, if you had in hand K-K-K Q-Q and picked up a Q, you could play both sets without a discard.SCORING: A small game of Mille would be what's called $1-$3. That means that you'd win $3 if you win the game, and earn $3 for any mark that you attained throughout the game. The $1 is related to "ways" which counts for how much you win by. $1 for each 100 points you win by. You round up, so if you won by 150 points that would count as two ways. To mark a chapeau you circle the score of the chapeau'd player. To mark a natural, you'd notify it by putting a star next to the score.So a typical game might look like this:Player A Player B140 350430 510650* 590800 540 (chapeau would be circled)940 840*1150 10301275 1180So in this case Player A would win $1 for a way, $3 for the game, $3 for the natural, and $3 for the chapeau for a total of $10. The marks only count if you win the game, so player B's natural is useless. This game is crazy fun. There are all kinds of tricks you can pull. or example, say I laid down 7-7-7. Well logic would dicatate that I don't have anymore 7's in my hand. However, if I did happen to hold two 7's back, you might throw a 7 into the pack thinking it was a safe card. If we are in a pack fight, with lots of valuable points in there, that trick could win you the pack.

#2 econ_tim

econ_tim

    forum explorer

  • Members
  • 4,901 posts
  • Location:uncharted waters

Posted 18 December 2005 - 06:24 PM

What is this game??? Can we play it at FCP?? :wink:

#3 ctcarton

ctcarton

    Poker Forum Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 December 2005 - 06:06 AM

Ahh, it's a type of rummy. There are lots of other rummy variations that you might enjoy too.

#4 nell789

nell789

    2006 FCHL Regular Season Champion

  • Members
  • 3,112 posts

Posted 23 December 2005 - 02:36 PM

Thanks for the rules Daniel...one thing I couldn't figure out is how the chapeau's work, I didn't quite understand that.

#5 DanielNegreanu

DanielNegreanu

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Root Admin
  • 7,637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas

Posted 23 December 2005 - 02:48 PM

CHAPEAU's: An example: Let's say you go out with all of your cards. At that point, your opponent would count the points that he has laid down at that point. Let's say he laid down KKK and 999 for a total of 45 points. Now, he'd have to count the points that are in his hand. So let's say he was left with this in his hand: 5 5 Q 10 2 2 A A 4. If you add up what you have in your hand you'd get 95. So, 45 positive points and 95 negative points has your opponent at -50. Anytime your opponent has a negative score, it's a chapeau. You circle the score, and it counts as a "mark."
Posted Image

#6 nell789

nell789

    2006 FCHL Regular Season Champion

  • Members
  • 3,112 posts

Posted 24 December 2005 - 01:18 PM

DanielNegreanu said:

CHAPEAU's: An example: Let's say you go out with all of your cards.  At that point, your opponent would count the points that he has laid down at that point.  Let's say he laid down KKK and 999 for a total of 45 points.   Now, he'd have to count the points that are in his hand.  So let's say he was left with this in his hand: 5 5 Q 10 2 2 A A 4.  If you add up what you have in your hand you'd get 95.    So, 45 positive points and 95 negative points has your opponent at -50.  Anytime your opponent has a negative score, it's a chapeau.  You circle the score, and it counts as a "mark."
thanks, can't wait to play this game, as I am a huge fan of Gin Rummy, and this sounds close to that.

#7 nell789

nell789

    2006 FCHL Regular Season Champion

  • Members
  • 3,112 posts

Posted 24 December 2005 - 02:07 PM

Couple of quick questions daniel, first of all, after you lay down sets, are you allowed to add to them later on in the hand?and also, how does the declaring work? it's when you have 2 cards left in your hand right? but let's say I'm trying to be sneaky and I have A A A 3 3 3 6 9 in my hand. Now I have 8 cards in my hand, but only 2 cards that can't go into a set, so do I have to decare here?Oh ya, and just to be sure, you discard into the pack every time it's your turn right?

#8 DanielNegreanu

DanielNegreanu

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Root Admin
  • 7,637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas

Posted 24 December 2005 - 06:03 PM

nell789 said:

Couple of quick questions daniel,  first of all, after you lay down sets, are you allowed to add to them later on in the hand?and also, how does the declaring work? it's when you have 2 cards left in your hand right? but let's say I'm trying to be sneaky and I have A A A 3 3 3 6 9 in my hand. Now I have 8 cards in my hand, but only 2 cards that can't go into a set, so do I have to decare here?Oh ya, and just to be sure, you discard into the pack every time it's your turn right?
1. Yes, you can for example, lay down 3-3-3 and then later pick up a 3 and put it down immediately. HOWEVER, you couldn't take the 3 if it was thrown into the pack unless you had two 3's in your hand.2. You only have to tell your opponent when you have two cards in your hand.3. Yes, you pick up from either the pack or the deck anf then have to throw a card back to the pack, unless of course you are out.
Posted Image

#9 brvheart

brvheart

    I'm the best.

  • Members
  • 23,288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toyko, Japan
  • Interests:Playing in nuclear fallout.
  • Favorite Poker Game:I play 100/200 live with my best friend Jason.

Posted 24 December 2005 - 07:32 PM

Merry Christmas Everyone

#10 brvheart

brvheart

    I'm the best.

  • Members
  • 23,288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toyko, Japan
  • Interests:Playing in nuclear fallout.
  • Favorite Poker Game:I play 100/200 live with my best friend Jason.

Posted 24 December 2005 - 07:32 PM

Merry Christmas Everyone

#11 nell789

nell789

    2006 FCHL Regular Season Champion

  • Members
  • 3,112 posts

Posted 24 December 2005 - 09:53 PM

DanielNegreanu said:

nell789 said:

Couple of quick questions daniel,  first of all, after you lay down sets, are you allowed to add to them later on in the hand?and also, how does the declaring work? it's when you have 2 cards left in your hand right? but let's say I'm trying to be sneaky and I have A A A 3 3 3 6 9 in my hand. Now I have 8 cards in my hand, but only 2 cards that can't go into a set, so do I have to decare here?Oh ya, and just to be sure, you discard into the pack every time it's your turn right?
1. Yes, you can for example, lay down 3-3-3 and then later pick up a 3 and put it down immediately. HOWEVER, you couldn't take the 3 if it was thrown into the pack unless you had two 3's in your hand.2. You only have to tell your opponent when you have two cards in your hand.3. Yes, you pick up from either the pack or the deck anf then have to throw a card back to the pack, unless of course you are out.
Awesome man, thanks alot. I played it abit without using #1, and it kinda sucked, but that would change it alot.

#12 KingTrashOff

KingTrashOff

    Poker Forum Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 24 December 2005 - 10:21 PM

brvheart said:

Merry Christmas Everyone
I just noticed the clock.. Merry Christmas!

#13 gel

gel

    Poker Forum Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 January 2006 - 03:55 PM

Been watching a couple of guys play mille in a poker club in toronto and it's pretty fun looking game. The guys playing were raymond and vince "shampoo" which i think daniel both played agaist before back in the day of the charity casinos.

#14

  • Guests

Posted 10 January 2006 - 08:16 PM

Very cool game, Daniel. After playing a few games, I have a couple of questions on rules:1. When going out with naturals, does that mean when there are no wild cards on your complete board, or just when your last set dropped doesn't include a wild card?2. Since wild cards can replace any wild card, can you play 2-2-Q?

#15 nell789

nell789

    2006 FCHL Regular Season Champion

  • Members
  • 3,112 posts

Posted 10 January 2006 - 08:36 PM

yawetag said:

Very cool game, Daniel. After playing a few games, I have a couple of questions on rules:1. When going out with naturals, does that mean when there are no wild cards on your complete board, or just when your last set dropped doesasn't include a wild card?2. Since wild cards can replace any wild card, can you play 2-2-Q?
Just in case DN doesn't have time to respond to this, I'll give it a shot.1. You're entire board cannot contain wildcards. You can however have a set of only 2's. so if your board was 6666 888 222 JJJJ AAA, that would count as a natural. It would not count as a natural if it was 6666 882 222 JJJJ AAA.2. No you cannot play 22Q, you need to have at least a pair not including the 2, so QQ222 would work.

#16 DanielNegreanu

DanielNegreanu

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Root Admin
  • 7,637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas

Posted 11 January 2006 - 03:49 AM

YES, you can certainly play 2-2-Q and you might be forced to on occasion. As for your other question, you can't use a 2 as a wild card and have a natural. 222 as a spread is ok, but otherwise anytime you use a 2 as a wildcard you can't make a natural.
Posted Image

#17 bluesfan1

bluesfan1

    Poker Forum Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:St Peters
  • Interests:Sports/Poker/Computers

Posted 11 January 2006 - 12:26 PM

Quote

As for your other question, you can't use a 2 as a wild card and have a natural. 222 as a spread is ok, but otherwise anytime you use a 2 as a wildcard you can't make a natural.
Isn't his only partly true. By that I mean that it is true that you can't have a natural for your hand but still could get all 8 4's and count that as a natural. Of course the double points in that case would only count on the 4's.bluesfan1

#18

  • Guests

Posted 12 January 2006 - 11:00 PM

Thanks for the assistance, DN!One more question that came up tonight.The rules say you must state when you have two cards left. What's the penalty if you don't?Thanks again!

#19 ryane_2

ryane_2

    Poker Forum Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 January 2006 - 10:48 AM

love the site, just joined, Love the poker chat and play at FCP too! I am still trying to recover from a week and a half in vegas over the new year and this is a good place for me to come and be around the game.

#20 dreamcrusher28

dreamcrusher28

    Poker Forum Groupie

  • Members
  • 917 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, NY (Vegas soon)
  • Interests:Pokah
  • Favorite Poker Game:....why all of them of course!!

Posted 16 January 2006 - 06:30 PM

All this talk of laying down sets makes me not want to play this game!!!! :club: :D :D :twisted:
-Only H.O.R.S.E.men who play 2-7 TD are true poker players.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users