Posted 18 July 2012 - 04:30 AM
Thanks for the comments, Highwaystar. Just to be accurate, his pre-flop RR was for about 1/4 of his stack and my pre-flop call was for roughly 1/3 of my stack, though I suppose that doesn't make a tremendous amount of difference. I was certainly commiting too many chips with a fairly weak starting hand. I have to disagree with you, though regarding the post flop decision. I think that's a very interesting spot, regardless of how it was arrived at. If all this hand were about was whether or not I should have made the pre-flop call, then I wouldn't have posted about it, since that is fairly straightforward. Just because a fairly bad play led to a tough decision doesn't mean that tough decision insn't interesting.Thanks as well, bat. My obvious mistake was calling pre-flop, and I think everyone agrees. And once he performed his little show I was certain he had a big pair (AA or KK). I ruled out QQ for the most part since I thouight he would play that like AK and I was fairly certain he didn't have that. Of course, QQ is no different than KK in this situation, so it didn't really make a big difference in my thinking.I would like to get people's thoughts on the post-flop decision, since that is where I think this hand becomes interesting. If cashing really mattered, then the safe and prudent play would have been to fold post-flop and I wouldn't be posting it here. After all, sometimes it is wise to fold KK, or perhaps even AA pre-flop when on the bouble, depending on your situation, so the precarious position I found myself in certainly didn't warrant a call if cashing were paramount. But everyone seems to agree that the villain either had AA or KK in this situation. I had KK crushed, and was obviously dead to AA. Folding meant I was defintely still in the tournament, and who know what would happen, but I would be in a very weak position to finish in the top 3 or 4. And of course, folding may have also meant I was folding by far the best hand which would have been pretty awful in that spot. This is not to say you should never be willing to fold the best hand, but this particular spot would have been a very bad one to do so.As a little side commentary. I have obviously stated that cashing was irrelevant and this played a great dea into my decision. I do not want to make it seem like cashing is not good. Obviously making money as opposed to not making money is a good thing. However, I think cashing is a bit overrrated in modern MT live tournaments, which is pretty much what I play exclusively. The way that TDs have structured payouts (paying more than 10% of fields, really flattening out the tail end of the payouts and paying only ~1.5x buy-in for min-cashes) in order to appeal to casual players makes it so you really have to go deep from time to time in order to get the ROI from these tournaments. Having a tremendous cash rate, even something as large as 20% isn't going to get it done unless you have a number of top 1% or 2% finishes. In certain situations where the payout structure is very good, even for min-cashes, or if I haven't cahsed in a while, I will defineitly focus on cashing and play very conservatively on the bubble in order to accomplish that. If this particular example were such a case, I would never have made the post-flop call. But in this case, you really needed to finish in the top 3 or 4 in order to make good money and at the moment I felt that a double up or go home strategy, even on the bubble was worth the risk.