Jump to content


Interference Rule Musings


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 BaseJester

BaseJester

    Poker Forum Veteran

  • Members
  • 2,109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Castle
  • Interests:Juggling. Ventriloquism. Story-telling.
  • Favorite Poker Game:The quintain

Posted 15 March 2012 - 08:11 PM

Quote

7.09 It is interference by a batter or a runner when-. . .(h) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.. . .PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead.
If a coach taps a players to communicate, is it interference? I've always ruled this as legal, but that seems to be a minority opinion. I think this rule only applies when the coach accelerates the player's body. Other people rule any touch that assists the runner, even if that assistance is information,
If everybody is thinking the same thing, then somebody isn't thinking.
- General George Patton

#2 slink

slink

    Wow

  • Members
  • 1,348 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind the curtain
  • Interests:Manslaughter, justifiable homicide, knife sharpening...
  • Favorite Poker Game:discharging my weapon

Posted 15 March 2012 - 10:15 PM

I think it matters if a play is actually still going on in the field. If it is between pitches, or a play is dead, it should be allowed to tap a player to communicate with them.The rule you stated is that the contact has to assist a player, returning or leaving a base.
┌∩┐(◣_◢)┌∩┐

not everyone is as into you as you are

icon_wall.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users