Flush For Me On Turn. Now Do I Bet And If Yes What %?

Hi everyone. I am new to FCP, but I have been playing poker for about 10 years now. (can you say Moneymaker effect) I typically play 1/2 NLHE cash games. I live in Michigan and supplement my income by playing poker. I have learned a lot from reading the FCP forums and by listening to the great Dneg.

In the old days when you hit your flush on the turn you would always check otherwise opponents fold. In this aggressive era of poker what is a good % of the pot to bet in an average hand. Please provide answers for both in and out of position.

post-153718-0-55563600-1370649996_thumb.jpg

post-153718-0-59168000-1370650013_thumb.jpg

Hey, welcome to FCP...

Your question is very broad, and really depends on a pretty massive number of factors...

But basically I would say whether it's the old days or the current days you shouldn't be saying "you would always check"... or "you should always" anything... different situations lead to different actions.

I recommend that you don't look for standard plays, and repeat them consistently... instead look to absorb as much information as you can in each session about the group of players you're with, the table image you have, the aggression of other players etc etc etc... focus on paying attention to any of these kinds of things within the hand and move away from "I have a flush, so I'm gonna do this"

Good post gad, as mentioned there is a lot missing here. How much is in the pot, how high is your flush, heads up ? Think about semi bluffing sometimes, bet the flop with the draw and if you hit he doesn't always put you on the flush and if he folds you take it down, he's folding to a bet on the turn once you hit the flush anyway, assuming he checked the flop and didn't back into top pair or something. If he does hit top pair and calls a river bet he's more likely to pay you in a semi bluff situation.