I know this should probably go in the off topic forum, but I doubt many people read that forum. Anyway, I just started playing gin rummy for fun with my fiancee. She'll play poker for fun, but isn't very good. I don't really enjoy playing poker for fun, so we started playing gin rummy. I know for a while, nobody would play Stuey in gin rummy since he was so good. Do any of you play? For fun or serious? There are definite similarities to poker (a lot of strategy if you start taking it seriously.

• Like 1

i play for $.05 a point with my family, so the msot anyone is stuck with is about $10-20 bucks. its a real fun game and i really enjoy it. there are definetly some finer points to the game. i dont know if you saw the stu unger movie but there was an excellent scene in it where he blind reads a guys gin hand. anyways, its a fun game.

Gin rummy is the game I grew up on, that and cribbage. My Dad and I would play all the time. It all comes down to what your opponent is holding, so it resembles poker in that sense, putting your opponent on a hand. In GR, you get significantly more information throughout a hand, so you can get better reads sometimes. Haven't played GR in a long time, I'm gonna have to teach my wife.

• Like 1

There's a story about Stuey being a great gin rummy player in Phil Hellmuth's book on bad beats (it was a present, I swear).While playing a high stakes HE game, Chip Reese, who was playing gin near the table, asked stuey if he thought he made a good play.Without missing a beat, stuey says he would have laid down five draws ago with five points in his hand.Everyone was stunned that not only was stuey playing (and winning) his poker, he was also keeping track of a gin game.